A Foundation of Thinking

Given my upbringing in the church, I thought I knew God in some small way. I somehow managed to get by knowing He existed in my life but having no participatory relationship with Him at all. I believed in Jesus but what I believed of Him was a matter in question. I had no foundation of truth or understanding.

We all experience events in life in which God feels very present: being in the midst of a storm, being heartbroken in romance, grieving the death of a loved one, or having a terminal illness-whatever sets our eyes on Him. But these events do not provide the truth of the character and nature of God which gives wisdom to understanding these situations.

There are also times when we don’t feel God’s presence at all, but know He’s there. That’s faith.

There are no limits to experiencing God. The ability to see and feel Him comes from searching. But knowing God comes from learning His word.

Is it enough to simply believe in God-accepting Christ as your Lord and Savior? A foundation is something to build on. ©

Ephesians 1:18–19 NIV says, “I pray that the eyes of your heart may be enlightened in order that you may know the hope to which He has called you, the riches of His glorious inheritance in His holy people, and His incomparably great power for us who believe.”

 

 

Leave a comment